Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Access to Justice Week

blank

Thanks to Access to Justice Week partners and participants!

Join our mailing list to be notified when post event materials such as presentations and videos from our sessions are available. Have feedback on this year’s program? Please complete our evaluation to help us plan Access to Justice Week 2018.



Endorsements

Supreme Court of Canada Chief Justice Beverley McLachlin

Statement in the House from MP Marco Mendocino

New Report

TAG_Millennials_Technology_and_Access_to_Justice_in_Ontario

Millennials, Technology and Access to Justice

This report provides helpful insights and contributes to key questions that access to justice and legal technology advocates may be asking: Are Ontario Millennials ready for disruptive services in justice? Why would Ontario Millennials seek justice through technology? What are potential challenges to the adoptions of digital justice initiatives?

View report

Initiatives et ressources

 

Réimaginer les organismes de protection de la jeunesse au Canada – série de tables rondes

TAG est ravi de lancer une série de tables rondes avec ses partenaires communautaires et universitaires en Alberta, en Ontario et en Nouvelle-Écosse pour promouvoir des modèles adaptés à la culture autochtone.


Initiatives d’accès à la justice dans les communautés de l’Ontario

Le ministère du Procureur général, Aide juridique Ontario, les cliniques d’aide juridique et les organismes de service communautaire travaillent ensemble à promouvoir et améliorer l’accès à la justice pour les personnes à faible revenu en Ontario. Cette série d’articles de blogues met en relief le travail important qui se fait pour accéder à certains des services offerts.


Vos droits à l’éducation : renseignez-vous sur les droits de votre enfant à l’école

La Clinique juridique communautaire de Kingston, en conjonction avec TAG – le Groupe d’action sur l’accès à la justice, offre un séminaire gratuit sur les droits légaux des enfants à l’école, dans le cadre de la Semaine de l’accès à la justice 2017.


Étudiants architectes de la justice

TAG et le ROEJ ont regroupé des étudiants en droit pour parler aux gens de notre système juridique. Nous voulons savoir ce que le public pense et ce qui se passe sur le terrain. Qu’est-ce qui marche ? Comment l’améliorer ?


Atelier juridique sur le langage clair

Un atelier juridique sur le langage clair sera offert aux étudiants parajuristes au Collège La Cité et aux étudiants en droit à l’Université d’Ottawa, section de common law.


Conversation Twitter – améliorer l’accès à la justice dans le système de justice pour les jeunes Canadiens et Canadiennes

Les jeunes Canadiens et Canadiennes (de 12 à 17 ans) ont-ils une expérience de la police, des tribunaux, des conflits et de la discipline différente de celle des adultes ? Comment notre système de justice pour les jeunes peut-il mieux servir les jeunes qui sont dans ce système ? Joignez la discussion nationale le vendredi 27 octobre à 12 h 30 HNE pour discuter des défis et des façons de faire progresser la justice pour les jeunes au Canada.


Webinaire : droit de la famille – dégroupage des services

Les Ontariens sont plus susceptibles de subir l’impact direct d’un différend en droit de la famille que de tout autre type de problème juridique. De plus en plus souvent, de nombreuses personnes essaient de régler un différend familial sans l’avantage d’une représentation juridique, soit par choix ou par nécessité.


Balado des architectes de la justice

Explorer l’accès à la justice en Ontario est un balado en anglais qui explore comment les gens trouvent de nouvelles façons d’améliorer l’accès à la justice. En rassemblant de multiples perspectives y compris celles des utilisateurs, des travailleurs communautaires, des étudiants et des professionnels juridiques, notre objectif est de mettre en relief différentes conversations visant à rendre le système de justice plus efficace.


L’Accès à la justice

Dans le cadre de la deuxième semaine annuelle sur l’accès à la justice en Ontario, pratiquO et le Programme de pratique du droit organisent une conférence conjointe, le 25 octobre 25 de 9h à 16h.


Justice For All

#JusticeForAll is a national opportunity for people to check their legal health by doing a short online quiz. The quiz asks questions about everyday legal issues and then connects people to local resources and activities to learn more or get legal help.



Évènements

Innovation sur l’accès à la justice

Lundi 23 octobre

9 h – 13 h
Barreau du Haut-Canada


Due to technical difficulties we are not able to live stream this event. A video will be posted on YouTube.


Ce programme d’une demi-journée lance la semaine de l’accès à la justice en mettant en lumière le travail novateur et communautaire dans le secteur de la justice. Comment progresse ce travail, fait-il une différence et de quoi avons-nous besoin pour faire avancer l’innovation en matière d’accès à la justice ?

Plus
Improving Health, Improving Service

Améliorer la santé, améliorer le service

Lundi 23 octobre

16 h – 18 h
Barreau du Haut-Canada


Webcast link


Des études récentes ont démontré que les avocats sont à plus haut risque d’anxiété, de toxicomanie et de dépression que la population générale. Cette propension commence à la faculté de droit et finit par avoir un effet nuisible sur les personnes qui comptent sur les avocats pour gérer leurs problèmes juridiques quotidiens.

Plus

L’influence des millénaux

Mardi 24 octobre

11 h 30 – 13 h
Université d’Ottawa


Video will be made available.


Connus pour faire les choses autrement, les millénaux, nés à l’ère numérique, sont la génération future d’utilisateurs du système de justice et ses professionnels juridiques. Qu’est-ce que ça veut dire pour l’accès à la justice ?

Plus
Paralegals and Access to Justice

Les parajuristes et l’accès à la justice

Mercredi 25 octobre

16 h – 18 h
Barreau du Haut-Canada


Webcast link


Cette séance propose une discussion de groupe sur la façon dont les parajuristes font progresser le système de justice dans les communautés. Elle sera suivie d’une présentation sur ce que font les parajuristes pour répondre aux besoins en accès à la justice dans les stages en cliniques.

Plus

Inclure. Informer. Inspirer.

Jeudi 26 octobre

10 h – 16 h
Chestnut Conference Centre


Due to technical difficulties we are not able to live stream this event. A video will be posted on YouTube.


Ce forum d’une journée entière est ouvert aux travailleurs communautaires et autres intéressés par l’éducation juridique publique. Les séances exploreront l’information juridique et les conseils juridiques, le rôle des intermédiaires de confiance dans l’apprentissage pratique d’un langage clair, de conceptions claires et d’autres habiletés.

Plus

A2J2017 – Engagez-vous

 

Quand vous entendez les mots « accès à la justice » – à quoi pensez-vous ? Pour moi, ces mots signifient de veiller à ce que le public ait confiance dans le système de justice, que les communautés comprennent leurs droits légitimes et que tout le secteur reflète leurs expériences.

Je suis heureux que le Groupe d’action sur l’accès à la justice travaille avec plusieurs partenaires pour organiser la deuxième semaine de l’accès à la justice en Ontario du 23 au 27 octobre. Participer à cette semaine offre une chance unique de réfléchir au système de justice, aux diverses personnes qui y travaillent et aux changements que nous pouvons y apporter tous ensemble. L’an dernier, la semaine a donné lieu à des idées productives et à la création de nouveaux liens. Cette année, le programme est développé à partir de ces fondements en offrant des séances sur l’accès à la justice en ce qu’il vise la santé mentale, la technologie, l’éducation juridique publique et l’importance des initiatives menées par la communauté.

Les avocats et les parajuristes jouent un rôle critique pour promouvoir l’accès à la justice, mais ils ne sont pas seuls. Nous avons tous un rôle à jouer pour rendre le système de justice plus accessible, que l’on soit une professionnelle juridique, un étudiant, une bibliothécaire ou tout simplement un résident de l’Ontario. Peu importe où vous êtes dans la province ou quel rôle vous jouez dans le système de justice, il y a plusieurs façons de participer à la conversation pendant la Semaine de l’accès la justice. Saisissez ce moment pour partager vos idées et vos innovations dans les réseaux sociaux en utilisant #A2J2017.

Une société juste représente tout le monde. Jamais dans notre histoire récente l’engagement envers l’accès à la justice n’a été aussi important. J’attends votre participation avec impatience.

Le trésorier,
Paul B. Schabas
Barreau du Haut-Canada

 

#A2J2017

 

 

Rattrapez-vous sur l’année passée

Check out TAG’s events and activity from last year.

Access to Justice Week in Saskatchewan

Check out Saskatchewan’s Access to Justice Week.

 

Partenaires


ajefo-logo
uOttawa

Alliés

LSUC-logo
lfo-logo

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Access to Justice Week

blank

Thanks to Access to Justice Week partners and participants!

Join our mailing list to be notified when post event materials such as presentations and videos from our sessions are available. Have feedback on this year’s program? Please complete our evaluation to help us plan Access to Justice Week 2018.



Endorsements

Supreme Court of Canada Chief Justice Beverley McLachlin

Statement in the House from MP Marco Mendocino

New Report

TAG_Millennials_Technology_and_Access_to_Justice_in_Ontario

Millennials, Technology and Access to Justice

This report provides helpful insights and contributes to key questions that access to justice and legal technology advocates may be asking: Are Ontario Millennials ready for disruptive services in justice? Why would Ontario Millennials seek justice through technology? What are potential challenges to the adoption of digital justice initiatives? Results are from an online survey conducted by Abacus Data in September 2017 with 1,000 Ontario residents aged 18 to 36.

View report

Initiatives & Resources

 

Re-Imagining Child Welfare Systems in Canada – Roundtable Series

TAG is pleased to launch a series of roundtables with community and university partners in Alberta, Ontario and Nova Scotia aimed at advancing culturally appropriate models for Indigenous child welfare.


Access to Justice Initiatives in Ontario Communities

The Ministry of the Attorney General, Legal Aid Ontario, legal aid clinics and community service organizations work together to promote and enhance access to justice for low-income people throughout Ontario. This series of blog posts highlights some of the important work being done and how to access some of the services being offered.


Your Education Rights: Learn about your child’s rights at school

Kingston Community Legal Clinic, in conjunction with TAG – The Action Group on Access to Justice, is offering a free seminar on the legal rights of children in schools, as part of Access to Justice Week 2017.


Architects of Justice Students

TAG and OJEN have coordinated law students to talk to people about the legal system. We want to know what the public thinks and what’s happening on the ground. What’s working? How can it be improved?


French Plain Language Legal Workshop

Communicating in plain language is an art for legal professionals. The clearer the legal information is for your client, the better s/he will understand and be able to seek justice; an important step towards access to justice!


Twitter Chat – Improving Access to Justice in Canada’s Youth Justice System

How do youth in Canada (12 to 17-year-olds) experience police, courts, conflict, and discipline differently than adults? Can our youth justice system better serve the youth who interact with it? Join us for a national discussion on Friday, October 27 at 12:30 p.m. ET to discuss these challenges and ways forward for youth justice in Canada.


Webinar: Family Law Unbundled

Ontarians are more likely to be directly impacted by a family law dispute than any other type of legal problem. With increasing frequency, many are attempting to address a family law issue without the benefit of legal representation, either by choice or by necessity.


Architects of Justice Podcast

Exploring Access to Justice in Ontario is a podcast that explores how people are finding new ways to improve access to justice. By bringing together multiple perspectives including users, community workers, students, and legal professionals, our goal is to spotlight different conversations about how we can make a more effective justice system.


Access to Justice in French

As part of Ontario’s second annual Access to Justice Week, PratiquO and the French Law Practice Program Joint Conference on October 25, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.


Justice For All

#JusticeForAll is a national opportunity for people to check their legal health by doing a short online quiz. The quiz asks questions about everyday legal issues and then connects people to local resources and activities to learn more or get legal help.



Events

Access to Justice Innovation

Monday, October 23

9am – 1pm
Law Society of Upper Canada


A video from the event will be posted soon.


This half-day program kicks off Access to Justice week by profiling innovative, community driven work from across the justice sector. How is this work progressing, is it making a difference and what’s needed to keep moving access to justice innovation forward?

More
Improving Health, Improving Service

Improving Health, Improving Service

Monday, October 23

4pm – 6pm
Law Society of Upper Canada


Webcast link


Recent studies have indicated that lawyers are at a higher risk for anxiety, substance abuse and depression than those in the general population. This susceptibility begins in law school and eventually has an impact on society by affecting people who rely on lawyers to manage their everyday legal problems.

More

The Millennial Influence

Tuesday, October 24

11:30am – 1pm
University of Ottawa


Video will be made available.


Known for doing things differently, Millennials are digital natives that are the next generation of justice system users and legal professionals. What does this mean for access to justice?

More
Paralegals and Access to Justice

Paralegals and Access to Justice

Wednesday, October 25

4pm – 6pm
Law Society of Upper Canada


Webcast link


This session features a panel discussion about how paralegals are advancing access to justice in communities. It will be followed by a presentation about how paralegal students are responding to local access to justice needs through legal clinic field placements.

More

Include. Inform. Inspire.

Thursday, October 26

10am – 4pm
Chestnut Conference Centre


A video from the event will be posted soon.


This full day forum is open to community workers and others interested in public legal education and information. Sessions will explore legal information and legal advice, the role of trusted intermediaries hands-on learning about clear language, clear design, and other skills.

More

A2J2017 – Get Involved

 

When you hear the term access to justice – what comes to mind? For me, these words are about ensuring that the public feels confident in the justice system, that communities understand their legal rights and see their experiences reflected throughout the sector.

I am pleased that The Action Group on Access to Justice is working with several partners to organize Ontario’s second annual Access to Justice Week from October 23rd to 27th. Participating in the week provides a unique opportunity to reflect on the justice system, the diverse people involved and the changes we can effect together. Last year, many productive insights and connections were made. This year, the program builds on that foundation with sessions about access to justice as it relates to mental health, technology, public legal education and the importance of community driven initiatives.

Lawyers and paralegals play a critical role in advancing access to justice but they are not alone. We all have a role to play in making the justice system more accessible whether you are a legal professional, a student, a librarian or an Ontario resident. No matter where you are in the province or what role you play in the justice system there are various ways to participate in the Access to Justice Week conversation. Seize this opportunity to share your insights, innovations and ideas on social media using #A2J2017.

A just society is one that represents everyone. Never in our recent history has a commitment to access to justice been more important. I look forward to your contributions.


Paul B. Schabas
Treasurer, The Law Society of Upper Canada

 

 

 

#A2J2017

 

 

Catch up on Last Year

Check out TAG’s events and activity from last year.

Access to Justice Week in Saskatchewan

Check out Saskatchewan’s Access to Justice Week.

Partners


ajefo-logo
uOttawa

Supporters

LSUC-logo
lfo-logo